Collection: Balvenie Whisky

William Grant was born on December 19, 1839, at his father's home in Dufftown. At the age of seven, he started herding cattle on a farm on the upper Deffren River. He apprenticed as a shoemaker, then a clerk, and in 1866 became a bookkeeper at the Mortlach distillery. There, he was appointed as a clerk, then a manager, and studied the distilling trade.

About 20 years later, William Grant quit his job at the Mortlach winery to buy a piece of land near Balvenie Castle. He then drew up plans for his winery and laid the cornerstone in the fall of 1886. William remained active in the company until his death in 1923 at the age of 83.

In early 1892, work began on the conversion of an 18th-century mansion (Balvenie New House) into a winery. The building took 15 months to complete, and on May 1, 1893, the Balvenie Distillery conducted its first distillation. Balvenie Master Malt Master David Stewart MBE is one of the most experienced professionals in the business, having been with William Grant & Sons since 1962. He is probably best known for being the first to create what came to be known as "the wood finishing process," the process by which whisky is matured in one type of cask, such as ex-bourbon casks, and then transferred to a second type casks (such as ex-sherry, port or rum), giving the whisky a deeper and more complex final flavour. He was awarded an MBE by Queen Elizabeth II on 5 July 2016 in recognition of his contribution to the Scotch whisky industry.
Balvenie Whisky

商品系列: Balvenie Whisky

William Grant 於 1839 年 12 月 19 日出生在他父親位於達夫敦的家中。七歲時,他開始在德弗倫河上游的一個農場放牛。他在鞋匠當學徒,然後當文員,在 1866 年成為 Mortlach 酒廠的簿記員。在那裡,他被任命為文員,然後是經理,並學習了蒸餾行業。

大約 20 年後,William Grant 辭去了在 Mortlach 酒廠的工作,在百富城堡附近買了一塊土地。然後,他為他的釀酒廠製定了計劃,並於 1886 年秋天奠定了基石。William 一直活躍在公司,直到 1923 年去世,享年 83 歲。

1892 年初,開始著手將一座 18 世紀的豪宅(Balvenie New House)改造成一家釀酒廠。 該建築歷時 15 個月完成,1893 年 5 月 1 日,百富酒廠進行了第一次蒸餾。百富麥芽大師 David Stewart MBE 是業內最有經驗的專家之一,他於 1962 年開始與 William Grant & Sons 合作。他最著名的可能是第一個創造了後來被稱為 "木材精整工藝的人",威士忌在一種類型的木桶中成熟的過程,例如前波旁酒桶,然後轉移到第二種類型的木桶中(例如前雪利酒、波特酒或朗姆酒),從而使威士忌的最終風味更加深度和復雜。他於 2016 年 7 月 5 日獲得英國女王伊麗莎白二世頒發的 MBE,以表彰他對蘇格蘭威士忌行業的貢獻。
Balvenie Whisky