Collection: Caol ila

Caol Ila is derived from the Gaelic word Caol Ìle, which means "Voice of Islay", referring to the distillery's location overlooking the strait between Islay and the Jura. It was founded in 1846 by Hector Henderson. The distillery did not run well and changed hands in 1854 when Norman Buchanan, owner of the Jura Island Distillery, took over the distillery.

In 1863 the company was bought by Bulloch Lade & Co, a Glasgow-based whisky stock trader. According to the 1871 census, Duncan Johnston was the distillery manager at the time. Duncan is the nephew of John Johnston of Lagavulin and cousin of Laphroaig Johnstons, so the family runs another distillery on the island. By the 1880s, more than 147,000 imperial gallons (670,000 liters) of whisky were being produced here each year.

Caol Ila is a lighter Islay whisky with a lighter colour, peaty, floral and peppery notes. In addition to being sold as a single malt whisky, it is also used heavily (about 95% of its production) in blends such as Johnnie Walker's Black Label. Since 1999, the distillery has also produced a peat-free whisky.

Caol ila

商品系列: Caol ila

Caol Ila 源自蓋爾語 Caol Ìle,意為“艾萊島之聲”,指的是釀酒廠的位置可以俯瞰艾萊島和汝拉之間的海峽。它由赫克托·亨德森於 1846 年創立。酒廠經營狀況不佳,並於 1854 年易手,當時侏羅島酒廠的所有者 Norman Buchanan 接管了酒廠。

1863 年,該公司被位於格拉斯哥的威士忌股票交易商 Bulloch Lade & Co 收購。根據 1871 年的人口普查,鄧肯約翰斯頓當時是酒廠經理。 Duncan 是 Lagavulin 的 John Johnston 的侄子,也是 Laphroaig Johnstons 的堂兄,因此他們家族又在島上經營著另一家釀酒廠。到 1880 年代,這裡每年生產超過 147,000 英制加侖(670,000 升)的威士忌。

Caol Ila 是一種較淡的艾萊島威士忌,顏色較淡,帶有泥炭味、花香和胡椒味。除了作為單一麥芽威士忌出售外,它還大量用於(約佔其產量的 95%)混釀,如尊尼獲加的黑牌。自 1999 年,該酒廠還生產了一種不含泥煤的威士忌。

Caol ila